[linux] bullet.pc

bugmenot
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2005 5:36 pm

[linux] bullet.pc

Post by bugmenot »

Hi,

I'm starting to try the bullet engine, and as first feedback I wanted to bring to your attention that the bullet.pc installed with the source package is out of date.

[code] $ pkg-config --libs bullet
-L/usr/local/lib -lbulletccdphysics -lbulletphysicsinterfacecommon -lbulletdynamics -lbullet -lbulletmath [/code]

where in my /usr/local/lib I have :

libbulletdynamics.a
libbulletcollision.a
libbulletmath.a
User avatar
Erwin Coumans
Site Admin
Posts: 4221
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2005 6:43 pm
Location: California, USA

Post by Erwin Coumans »

Thanks for bringing this up.

It has been fixed in svn version, and Bullet 2.43 will have the fixed version.

Thanks,
Erwin
john_sheu
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 8:53 am

Post by john_sheu »

On a similar note, this is what I have in the .pc:

Code: Select all

john@bluestar ~/Projects/C++/dof $ cat /usr/local/lib/pkgconfig/bullet.pc
prefix=/usr/local
exec_prefix=${prefix}
libdir=${exec_prefix}/lib
includedir=${prefix}/include

Name: bullet
Description: Bullet Continuous Collision Detection and Physics Library
Requires:
Version: 2.41
Libs: -L${libdir} -lbulletdynamics -lbulletcollision -lbulletmath
Cflags: -I${includedir}/bullet
It seems that the "version" entry is a bit behind the times. This is downloaded from the tarball on the downloads page.
User avatar
Erwin Coumans
Site Admin
Posts: 4221
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2005 6:43 pm
Location: California, USA

Post by Erwin Coumans »

The jam buildsystem was contributed and I haven't streamlined it. There is a 'VERSION' file, which isn't used I suppose. Right now Bullet requires manually updating of the version in several places, and this slips through the maze sometimes.

Could you help making a quick howto.txt for the version and other build-system specifics? Or perhaps some hints how we can centralize the version number in less locations?

Thanks,
Erwin
john_sheu
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 8:53 am

Post by john_sheu »

To be quite honest, I'm the last person you should ask as regards Autoconf or Jam, because I have minimal experience in either.

However, as a quick-and-dirty workaround, appropriately substituting the PACKAGE_VERSION and PACKAGE_STRING entries in configure:274 and configure:275 appears to work.