Exporting from Max through Collada to Bullet

Physics APIs, Physics file formats, Maya, Max, XSI, Cinema 4D, Lightwave, Blender, thinkingParticles™ and other simulation tools, exporters and importers
magicchicken

Exporting from Max through Collada to Bullet

Post by magicchicken »

Before I get started I should apologize for the large amount of questions I'm asking, and thank you for taking the time to just read over it. Any help in any area is greatly appreciated. I'm new to using Bullet as well as Collada. In the past I've rolled my own physics engine from Ian Millington's Physics Architecture book, as well as a year of using PhysX for the student game project "Froggle". This year we chose Bullet for commercial licensing reasons.

For the project I'm working on now, I'd like to export environmental collision data from 3DS Max. I'm wondering what the process is like for games/projects using a similar resource setup. We already have an exporter (ColladaMax) to get visual data out to Collada, and we're looking at using NVidia/Ageia's exporter for physics data. The questions before getting started are:
  • Do we use two different exporters, or would the PhysX exporter also export visual data?
  • How hard is it to manage the association between visual data and physics data?
  • I'm sure I don't always want the physical and graphical representations to match up, so how does this process work in Max itself? If we have artists creating the environments, would they need to also model a similar physical mesh? Does the PhysX exporter know if when you're giving an object a sphere collision shape versus a convex mesh that just happens to be a sphere?
From what I understand, collada is meant to be an intermediate format, so that's exactly how we've been approaching it for our game so far:
  • The first part of the process is building the environments in Max and then exporting them entirely to collada.