simple ray-world collision detection

chrislu

simple ray-world collision detection

Post by chrislu »

hi,
i am completely new to collision detection and physics libraries, so please bear with me...

for the first step i want to do a simple ray world collision detection for selection purposes. i had a look at the collision inferface demo and i think i get the basics. now my question is how to simply use bullet collision detection to just test all world objects against a single ray and get the nearest collision object to the starting point of the ray (eye position)?

my second question would be if bullet is using the GIMPACT library implicitly for such collision detection or do i have to specify the use of GIMPACT directly for collision tests against concave objects?

thanks for the help...
-chris

p.s.
i saw that i have to specify the solver directly for physics simulation/constraint resolving. i couldn't find information about which solver i should use for which purpose in terms of efficiency?
Erwin Coumans
Site Admin

Post by Erwin Coumans »

When using Bullet, it is easiest to use the built-in raycast functionality. Mouse picking is using raycasting, see CcdPhysicsDemo, and Bullet/Demos/OpenGL/DemoApplication.cpp for implementation. Use the ClosestRayResultCallback to find the first hit. This is implemented in btCollisionWorld (and derived classes like btDiscreteDynamicsWorld).

Code: Select all

/// rayTest performs a raycast on all objects in the btCollisionWorld, and calls the resultCallback
	/// This allows for several queries: first hit, all hits, any hit, dependent on the value returned by the callback.
	void	rayTest(const btVector3& rayFromWorld, const btVector3& rayToWorld, RayResultCallback& resultCallback);