Compilation / Installation question

Thomi

Compilation / Installation question

Post by Thomi »

Hi,

I've managed to get Bullet compiled, and the demos work well. I now want to write my own code, but I can't figure out a few things:

when I run cmake & make, only static libraries are built. Is it possible to get a .so build? I assume there's a good reason .so files aren't being build... what is it?

Second, I'd like to install the bullet header files in /usr/local/include/bullet. Is there an automated method of doing this? (make install seems to do nothing).

I've never used cmake before, so I may be missing something!

Cheers!
Erwin Coumans
Site Admin

Post by Erwin Coumans »

Bullet is not meant as a system-wide library. The behaviour changes with different versions, and you don't want a new version of a .dll/.so change and break existing other applications that use Bullet.

The manual tells how to use Bullet: simply add the Bullet/src folder to your project, compile, link and run your application. Please you static linked library, just like the Bullet demos do. You application (just like the Bullet demos) can be build with MSVC projectfiles, CMake and jam. No support for system-wide libraries or .dll/.so from me (but perhaps others).

Thanks,
Erwin
Thomi

Post by Thomi »

Thanks for the clarification. I was hoping to remove the bullet code from the rest of my code via a shared lib.

I don't care if every time I have up update bullet I also have to update y own code, but I guess I'll just bite the bullet (hahaaaa!!!) and do as you suggest.

p.s.- I'm so sorry, I usually tell really bad jokes...
Erwin Coumans
Site Admin

Post by Erwin Coumans »

haha.

Alternatively you can also use jam. jam is distributed with Bullet, see Bullet/jam-2.5, so no excuse not having it.

Just do

./configure
jam
jam install

This should copy ('install') the include files and static libraries globally.
seventhguardian

Post by seventhguardian »

Hello!