Mesh as collision detector but not physical object

pwr

Mesh as collision detector but not physical object

Post by pwr »

Hi!
(I hope this is the correct place to post this question)
I'm new to using physics engine. I feel a bit lost when trying to googling answers. So I really apologize if my question seems to be really stupid and easy to find answers to by simply googling them. It is because I don't know the terms to use.

This is what I want to do:
My is built up of chunks of blocks, like in minecraft. I want to add simple physics to my water. I have read about bouancy and I don't think that my game need that advanced simulation. So I don't think that have any use of the btHtFluid demo in the Bullet source.

This is what I'm thinking of doing:
Use a mesh that defines the water body and use collision detection to find out which objects are located in the water. If an object is located in the object I apply a force on the object.

This is what I don't know:
How do I create the water body mesh that I can use for collision detection. I can create bodies that hard hard that bounce when they collide. But the water body should only be used to signal that a body are inside so I can apply an impulse. In other words I don't want the water mesh to work as a real physical object only a search space to detect collision with mobile objects that should float.

I really hope someone understand what I want to do. :)

BR
pwr
marios

Re: Mesh as collision detector but not physical object

Post by marios »

Yep, You can do that easily just add this line while creating your body. Then it will not collide but it will be still generating contact points, that you want to use to check which body is inside water.

Code: Select all

body->setCollisionFlags(body->getCollisionFlags()| btCollisionObject::CF_NO_CONTACT_RESPONSE));
pwr

Post by pwr »