Collision detection between two btBvhTriangleMeshes

jstolarz

Collision detection between two btBvhTriangleMeshes

Post by jstolarz »

Hello, I'm new to Bullet and am trying to use it's Collision Detection interface (not dynamics) for detecting collisions in a virtual (eventually real) robot arm. I've gone through the demo code, especially CollisionInterfaceDemo and tried to find the answer on the forum/manual, etc (already quite useful for earlier issues), but can't seem to find a solution to my problem.

Basically, the meshes are visibly in collision according to the DebugDrawer, but no collisions seem to be generated (neither via the DebugDrawer or by iterating over the ContactManifolds as suggested on various posts and in CollisionInterfaceDemo). Specifically, a call to getNumManifolds() from the dispacther returns 0 (similar to post 7 in this topic: http://www.bulletphysics.org/Bullet/php ... 26&start=0), even though the broadphase (btDbvtBroadphase) algorithm reports there are 4 overlapping pairs with a call to getNumOverlappingPairs(). As I understand it, there should always be a btPersistentManifold for each overlapping pair. Is this not the case?

I feel like I'm probably missing something basic, but I can't figure out what it is...

Here's my pertinent "world building" code:

Code: Select all

//CD stuff
btDefaultCollisionConfiguration* colConfig = new btDefaultCollisionConfiguration();
btCollisionDispatcher* dispatcher = new btCollisionDispatcher(colConfig);
btBroadphaseInterface* broadphase = new btDbvtBroadphase();
btCollisionWorld* world = new btCollisionWorld(dispatcher, broadphase, colConfig);

//arrays for keeping mesh data, shapes, and collision objects
btAlignedObjectArray<btCollisionObject*> armCollObjs;
btAlignedObjectArray<btBvhTriangleMeshShape*> armTriMeshShapes;
btAlignedObjectArray<btTriangleMesh*> armTriMeshes;

//how above arrays are filled (bt is a pointer to a class I made to encapsulate Bullet related functions and variables)