A question about penetration handling

Please don't post Bullet support questions here, use the above forums instead.
aokman

A question about penetration handling

Post by aokman »

Hi, guys:
I'm new to physics simulation, and there is a question disturbing me until now.
I know this question may be easy to you, but I'm new you see.
So, I come here to ask my question, and I wish to get a answer.

Actually, I would like to apply some physics to game. I had just read 'Physically Based Modeling' by Baraff.
In the article, Baraff eliminates penetration by calculating time of impact with some numerical methods.
But, when a pair of contact is resolved, it may cause other new contact occur within the same time step.
If these new contact is not resolved, then at the beginning of next time step, there will be already some
penetration existing, and if we resolve them now, will we get a negative time of impact? Because, the time
of impact occured in last time step. Is it right? Should I eliminate all contact pairs in this time step to
guarantee that no penetration would happen in the next time step? If the answer is I should, then I think
it may lead to a poor performance.

I wish someone could give me a answer to this question, or give some advice about how to handle penetration
using other better method, or show me more information about this topic.

Thanks in advance.
Li Jiacan.
aokman

Re: A question about penetration handling

Post by aokman »

Could anybody help me?
raigan2

Post by raigan2 »

I don't know specifically about Baraff's method, but in general you should be able to handle small amounts of penetration as they're pretty unavoidable.
aokman

Post by aokman »

Well,...
anything more?
raigan2

Post by raigan2 »

Look into Box2D or Bullet? http://gphysics.com/ has some useful materials.
ngbinh

Post by ngbinh »

Have you tried Kenny Erleben PhD thesis?
aokman

Post by aokman »

ngbinh wrote:Have you tried Kenny Erleben PhD thesis?