New to Bullet - some questions

Stefan Rilling

New to Bullet - some questions

Post by Stefan Rilling »

Hello,

as i am quite new to Bullet, i have som questions for which i hope someone with more experience could give me an answer:
- Is it possible to set the density of the surrounding media or do i have to adjust this using the damping factors?
- Is air drag simulation included?
- I played around with the constraint demo, but i could not manage to build rigid joints / constraints between two objects. Is ist possible to do this (stable) with Bullet?
- I assume that the units used in Bullet are SI units, but i could not find a source to verify that
- I have problems to set different restitution factors to different objects. In the appBasicDemo, i call the setRestitution function with the values 0.0 and 1.0, but it doesn' t take any effect.

I would be glad if someone could help me with these issues.

Bye
Stefen
Erwin Coumans
Site Admin

Re: New to Bullet - some questions

Post by Erwin Coumans »

Stefan Rilling wrote:Hello,

as i am quite new to Bullet, i have som questions for which i hope someone with more experience could give me an answer:
- Is it possible to set the density of the surrounding media or do i have to adjust this using the damping factors?
- Is air drag simulation included?
Only damping, or provide your own system.
- I played around with the constraint demo, but i could not manage to build rigid joints / constraints between two objects. Is ist possible to do this (stable) with Bullet?
It should work fine, as long as you avoid large mass ratios (attaching a very heavy object to a light object). Can you elaborate on the issue? You can disable collision between object that share joints/constraints, you can see this in the ragdoll demo. Have you tried the ragdoll demo?
- I assume that the units used in Bullet are SI units, but i could not find a source to verify that