How do I create a shape for a triangle mesh?

shchhan

How do I create a shape for a triangle mesh?

Post by shchhan »

I'm new to Bullet and have some issues using it. I need a collision shape for a triangle mesh with about 50000 vertices. I searched everywhere and couldn't find any answer. Currently I'm using btTriangleIndexVertexArray for the triangle mesh and btGImpactMeshShape for the collision shape. The rigid body construction is following the "moving concave demo". The physics seems to be working OK when the program starts. But when I shoot a ball at the model, the getOpenGLMatrix function will return me a lot of invalid values. My questions are:
(1) Do I use btTriangleIndexVertexArray and btGImpactMeshShape for the triangle mesh collision? I need accurate collision information for each time step. Is the collision shape a simplified convex hull or anything else? If I should use any other collision shape, what is it?
(2) Do I need to update any information at every time step?

Update: I used btTriangleMesh and it works fine. But the physics is not right. When the object is at rest, it was in a very weired pose. When using btTriangleIndexVertexArray, the resting pose looks right. But when collision with new objects, the simulation totally crushed. I checked the localInertia of the collision shape using both the triangle mesh format, and the results are the same. The simulation is getting more and more confused to me... Can anyone help me with this?
Ateocinico

Re: How do I create a shape for a triangle mesh?

Post by Ateocinico »

Rendering detail is different from physical detail. Try to simplify as much as possible the physical object.
shchhan

Post by shchhan »

Can you be a little more specific? I do need accurate collision information of a mesh. I don't think I can simply anything. Also, are the classes I used right for meshes? Thanks
c6burns

Post by c6burns »