Simulation Based on Gravity gets Stuck

kraythe

Simulation Based on Gravity gets Stuck

Post by kraythe »

I am sorry if this is a newbie question but I am a bullet newbie.

I have created a simulation that i want to control exclusively with moving gravity vectors. As the user rolls the device around the effective gravity vector changes and the idea is that the ball rolls around. The problem is that the ball keeps getting stuck in some state where no gravity vector can move it any direction. I would appreciate any clues at how I could resolve this.

First the setup of the dynamics world:

Code: Select all

- (btDiscreteDynamicsWorld *)dynamicsWorld {
   if (_dynamicsWorld == Nil) {
      // -- Initialize the Bullet Physics Dynamics World.
      btCollisionConfiguration *_collisionConfiguration = new btDefaultCollisionConfiguration();
      btCollisionDispatcher *_collisionDispatcher = new btCollisionDispatcher(_collisionConfiguration);
      btBroadphaseInterface *_overlappingPairCache = new btDbvtBroadphase();
      btSequentialImpulseConstraintSolver *_constraintSolver = new btSequentialImpulseConstraintSolver;
      _dynamicsWorld = new btDiscreteDynamicsWorld(_collisionDispatcher, _overlappingPairCache, _constraintSolver, _collisionConfiguration);
      _dynamicsWorld->setGravity(btVector3(0.0f, 0.0f, -1.0f)); // set neutral z gravity.

// Set up the collision shape and planes
      btBoxShape *worldBoxShape = new btBoxShape(btVector3(btScalar(10.0f), btScalar(7.0f), btScalar(5.0f)));
      for (int i = 0; i < 6; i++) {
         // need to iterate through each of the planes in our box shape, moving them to the right collision positions.
         // Note that the creation of the shape above didnt create anything in the dynamics world. This will do that.
         btTransform groundTransform;
         groundTransform.setIdentity();
         groundTransform.setOrigin(btVector3(0, 0, 0));
         btVector4 planeEq;