Attach Rope to Softbody

vic____
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 10:52 am

Attach Rope to Softbody

Post by vic____ »

Hello,

Fairly new to bullet, though I have been doing Ok up until this problem arose,

I am trying to attach the the first node of a rope I created with the btSoftBodyHelper to a node of a soft body I generated from a trimesh.

That would for instance model a flag hanging from a rope, or rope under tension from two heavy soft bodies.

Looking at the SoftBodyDemo and documentation online I see appendAnchor works for rope&RigidBody, and appendAngularJoints is used with two soft bodies as parameters, but no reference to which nodes within the soft bodies to attach. So that does not seem to be what I need, unless I am mistaken.

Am I mistaken? Does anyone know where I could start looking?

Thanks in advance!
Flix
Posts: 456
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 1:06 pm

Re: Attach Rope to Softbody

Post by Flix »

Never tried it, but I remember I read something interesting here about it:
http://bulletphysics.org/Bullet/phpBB3/ ... ndLink+two

As an alternative you can simulate your rope as a rigid body chain.
Hope it helps.
vic____
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 10:52 am

Re: Attach Rope to Softbody

Post by vic____ »

Thanks a lot! I will try the link pointer trick as soon as possible.

In the meantime, what I got running is an invisible RigidBody (I just do not render it), to which both soft bodies get attached with "appendAnchor". Behaves, except sometimes, when big forces are applied, the anchor stretches. Do you know why?

That happens as well in the SoftDemo that relates with appendAnchor.
Xcoder79
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 5:27 am

Re: Attach Rope to Softbody

Post by Xcoder79 »

Try setting Anchor Hardness

By using psb ->kAHR = 0.7

And by setting Node Mass
->setMass(Node,10)