Questions about joints, usage and design of Bullet...

snake5

Questions about joints, usage and design of Bullet...

Post by snake5 »

Hi, everyone. This seems to be my first post here, in the forum. Unfortunately I have to start posting here with lots of questions that just haven't gone away by themselves.
I wouldn't classify myself as a complete beginner in physics but there are some new and completely unclear topics in 3D physics and in this library that I couldn't explain with the help of the user manual or wiki. The forum also lacks a FAQ section which I would have looked at before making this post. Another reason for asking is the amount of totally unsuccessful queries in Google that have led me to quite unrelated posts on the forum.

If someone knows a very good source of information that I might not have looked at yet, you can ignore the rest of this post and just point me to it. Otherwise, here are the questions:

-where can I find an in-depth comparison (insertion/removal/query/raycast/optimal body counts and sizes...) of broadphase algorithms?

-which broadphase would work better for levels that have at least 10000 static bodies, nearly 5000 dynamic bodies, most-sleeping?

-how much performance can be gained from using one huge triangle mesh for all of the static bodies?

-what kinds of transforms should I pass to the cone twist constraint's constructor? Are the current transforms of properly positioned bodies good enough?

-how does the cone twist constraint know around which point should the bodies be rotated?

-why does the joint store references to bodies, not pointers?

-how to set group/mask bits after the creation of a rigid body/collision object?

-why are bodies storing material data, not shapes (with the exception of per-triangle material shapes)? What about storing an array of materials in the body and indices in shapes/triangles - any chances I could get this either myself or through a library update without much effort?