Fast Collision Detection using Representative-Triangles

kuxv

Fast Collision Detection using Representative-Triangles

Post by kuxv »

Hi,
I've discovered paper on fast collision detection http://www.cs.unc.edu/~geom/RTRI/
It is about bounding volume hierarchies of triangle features(i.e. vertices, edges, faces).
Now because I'm new to Bullet I would like to know if this could be integrated and if so then how ?
I'll be happy to implement it so if anybody can help me with kick-off so I can start coding right now it would be very appreciated.
Erwin Coumans
Site Admin

Re: Fast Collision Detection using Representative-Triangles

Post by Erwin Coumans »

It should be straightforward to integrate another collision detector into Bullet. There are a few examples of doing so.

Best way is to check out Bullet/Demos/MovingConcaveDemo. It registers the optional GIMPACT concave collision detection.
Note that GIMPACT and Bullet already have an AABB tree that could be re-used for other purposes.

Also, there is the ODE box-box algorithms adapted for Bullet in Bullet/Extras/AlternativeCollisionAlgorithms, as example code.

Let us know how you get on,
Thanks,
Erwin
kuxv

Post by kuxv »

Thanks for quick reply, I'll look at it.
kuxv

Post by kuxv »

HI, I've taken a look at bullet source code and I have some more questions to ask. There is AABB tree implemented(as you told me) in btOptimizedBvh.h. It stores individual mesh triangles at leafs of the tree. If there are 2 potentionaly colliding pairs from Broadphase and they are stored as BVHs, then these two BVHs are compared. Then triangles which are suspicious are compared for intersection in Narrowphase. Am I correct or had I misunderstood something ?

If I'm correct it should be easy to implement technique mentioned in that paper from my first post. Because all I need is to take this AABB tree and add some more info to each leaf and use this info later in Narrowphase.

Any notes welcome. Thank you.
kuxv

Post by kuxv »