Bullet dynamica crash when opening scenes

Physics APIs, Physics file formats, Maya, Max, XSI, Cinema 4D, Lightwave, Blender, thinkingParticles™ and other simulation tools, exporters and importers
Post Reply
ydiaz
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 7:35 am

Bullet dynamica crash when opening scenes

Post by ydiaz »

Hello,

I'm having a quite annoying crash when using the Bullet Dynamica plugin in Maya 2011. It also happens on Maya 2012 for the Mac which makes me think it's something I'm doing wrong.

I attached the scene with that gives me the problem. I just used dg_Voro_py to shatter a sphere, chose a single piece, went to the dynamica shelf and clicked Create Active Mesh Rigid Body. The simulation runs fine and everything seems perfect, so I save the scene, no errors there, but when I try and load it again Maya crashes. The scene won't open anywhere else too, even on a Mac machine with Maya 2012.

I tried deleting the history on the piece and/or using Mesh > Cleanup with several tool settings with no luck. It doesn't seem to happen when creating Active Hull Rigid Bodies though, but the simulation I get using them isn't nearly as accurate.

Any idea what am I doing wrong?
Attachments
crash_test_.zip
(48.84 KiB) Downloaded 356 times
ydiaz
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 7:35 am

Re: Bullet dynamica crash when opening scenes

Post by ydiaz »

so apparently it was my fault because I was using Maya ASCII instead of Maya Binary :shock:

everything works perfectly fine if I save the scene as MB. At least I found the problem, right? :lol:

Thanks!
User avatar
majestik666
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 6:13 am

Re: Bullet dynamica crash when opening scenes

Post by majestik666 »

out of curiosity, do you have a stacktrace of the crash ?

on scene load maya nodes are sometimes not completly ready
so most of the operations have to be delayed until the loading
is finished, really not sure without a stack trace but could be the cause.
ydiaz
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 7:35 am

Re: Bullet dynamica crash when opening scenes

Post by ydiaz »

I don't know how to get to one, unfortunately. I've searched the logs in my Mac but there doesn't seem to be anything there. Where can I get the stacktrace?
User avatar
majestik666
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 6:13 am

Re: Bullet dynamica crash when opening scenes

Post by majestik666 »

if you launch maya from a shell with :

maya -d gdb

you should get a stacktrace upon crashing
ydiaz
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 7:35 am

Re: Bullet dynamica crash when opening scenes

Post by ydiaz »

Seems like maya doesn't understand the -d flag, it returns the typical help text describing the flags:

Flags:
-v prints the product version and cut number
-batch for batch mode
-prompt for interactive non-gui mode
-proj [dir] look for files in the specified project dir
-command [mel command] runs the specified command on startup
-file [file] opens the specified file
-script [file] sources the specified file on startup
(use complete file name)
-recover recover the last journal file
(use 'Render -help' for more options)
-optimizeRender [file] [outfile]
(use 'maya -optimizeRender -help' for more options)
the specified scene. required to archive
-noAutoloadPlugins do not auto-load any plug-ins.
-3 enable Python 3000 compatibility warnings
-help prints this message

I'm running it using the Maya Terminal, which usually works for everything else. Do I need to run in differently somehow?
Post Reply