btCompound and local vs world trafos

Moose

btCompound and local vs world trafos

Post by Moose »

Hi all,

I am new to that forum. Currently developing a bullet integration for an abstracted physics engine interface into a commercial visualization application that sports a rather complex scene graph structure. Please excuse my lack of in-depth bullet knowledge as I am relatively new to this.

Basically, I have succeeded in integrating quite a few shapes and meshes, as well as several Constraints and now struggling with compound shapes.

The issue is, that they do not behave the way I expect them to.

Let me illustrate an example with a compound that contains only one shape. A sphere. It is not in the origin of the ocmpound but has a local translation. What I do is roughly following (I extract code but this is not a working example):

btSphereShape *sphere = new btSphereShape(100);

and a plane on the ground that is a static object and has no translation or mass or anything.

Then a compound:

btCompound *compound = new btCompound(true);
sb->addChildShape(btTransform( /*translation is 100, 10000, 0 */), sphere);

btTransform principal;
btVector3 inertia;
btScalar *masses = new btScalar[1];
masses[0] = 1;
compound->createAabbTreeFromChildren();
compound->calculatePrincipalAxisTransform(masses, principal, inertia);
delete[] masses;

btVector3 inertia(0, 0, 0);
compound->calculateLocalInertia(1.0, inertia);
motionState = new btDefaultMotionState(btTransform( /*translation is 0, 0, 0 */));
btRigidBody::btRigidBodyConstructionInfo rigidBodyCI(mass, motionState, compound, inertia);
btRigidBody *cb = new btRigidBody(rigidBodyCI);
cb->setActivationState(DISABLE_DEACTIVATION);

// all right. There might be errors as I free-typed that but I guess you see what I'm aiming at.