Should you use the kinematic character controller?

Yelnats

Should you use the kinematic character controller?

Post by Yelnats »

Hello, I am currently new to bullet. I've begun to grasp the basic concepts of it, however my progress has come to a standstill. I am unsure how to control a character. Original it was a single rigid body, a capsule. However, this prevents useful control such as slope handling (whether to stand still or slide), walking up and down stairs, and flying off of slopes when going up at a fast speed. This led me to research the kinematic character controller. The manual says that it has several outstanding issues. I have tried to implement it, like many other, and have found issues. I am using blender and importing .bullet files from it. My first hold back was that gravity as well as hitboxes were screwed up, but after some evaluation it was found that the blender export has to be rotated -90 degrees due to the XYZ coord differences (blender seems to use a right handed system that is rotated 90 degrees along the X axis). This is the code I use to create the controller:

Code: Select all

playerShape = new btCapsuleShape(0.25, 1);

btTransform startTransform;
startTransform.setIdentity ();
startTransform.setOrigin (btVector3(0, 10, 0));

ghostObject= new btPairCachingGhostObject();
ghostObject->setWorldTransform(startTransform);
ghostObject->setCollisionShape(playerShape);
ghostObject->setCollisionFlags(btCollisionObject::CF_CHARACTER_OBJECT);
controller = new btKinematicCharacterController(ghostObject,playerShape,1);
controller->setGravity(-physics.getWorld()->getGravity().y());

physics.getWorld()->addCollisionObject(ghostObject,btBroadphaseProxy::CharacterFilter, btBroadphaseProxy::StaticFilter|btBroadphaseProxy::DefaultFilter);
physics.getWorld()->addAction(controller);
Right after I create the broadphase in the physics class, I also declare this: