Moving platforms

digi12345

Moving platforms

Post by digi12345 »

Hi,

I'm a bit new to bullet physics and I was hoping someone can help me implement a feature in my demo.

I want to create a moving platform that goes back and forth along an axis. The object is a ramp, so it is a irregular mesh meaning the bounding volume is not a box, sphere, cylinder... I've tried the following method with the following results:

- Platform is a kinematic object
- I move it by setting the centre of mass position
- works ok, but...
- problem: the dynamic rigid body object penetrates the kinematic object on the thickest part of the ramp and doesn't really push the dynamic object like you would expect

Is there a better method to make a moving platform that interacts with other dynamic rigid bodies for an irregular mesh? Should it be implemented using a 6DOF constraint and setting a linear velocity? If kinematic object is the way to go, how to I prevent bad penetration with dynamic objects?

Thanks.
MaxDZ8

Re: Moving platforms

Post by MaxDZ8 »

That's a bit of a surprise for me. Perhaps generic meshes are supposed to be "empty"?
I'm interested in knowing more as well.

BTW, my 2 cents.

I would, for first, build it from an assembly of simple rigid bodies. Such as boxes. Using a btCompoundShape.

Then, if you look at CharacterDemo and play a bit with it by adding some dynamic rigid bodies you get in the idea that kinematic bodies don't really push things around. They rather just warp to a certain position, compenetrating dynamic objects. The next frame, the compenetrated dynamics will try to recover from penetration. So it looks to me they don't get nearly as much push as they should.

I am currently playing a bit with sweeping ghost objects to provide more push, but that's probably not what you need.

What's the deal with generic meshes? Do you realize the collision algorithm is going to be massively more complicated?
MaxDZ8

Post by MaxDZ8 »

digi,