Shaping a world as a Cylinder

amireh

Shaping a world as a Cylinder

Post by amireh »

Hello, I'm very new to Bullet and 3D physics in general, and what I'm trying to do is rather simple but I can't figure out the API.

I have a sphere that will be confined within a tunnel, which I thought could be represented as a cylinder. The constructor for the cylinder shape allows for passing in "halfExtents" which I don't understand. I expect to specify a radius of the cylinder, its length, and which axis it grows along (which I figured out by finding 2 other versions of the class, for X and Z).

I tried playing with the parameters of the constructer to see what they affected, but it wasn't helpful. How can I create a static cylinder with a specific radius and length that can "contain" rigid bodies?

Thank you!
--
PS: I'm sure I'm missing something big here, and this is probably a newb question. To my credit, I've read the manual 3 times over, and all the Wiki entries, I still don't get it.
proof

Re: Shaping a world as a Cylinder

Post by proof »

Code: Select all

halfExtends = btVector3(height, radius, radius);
I don't think you can represent a tunnel with a cylinder, because it looks at the cylinder like a closed mesh... You should probably use a triangle mesh.
amireh

Post by amireh »

Thank you for your insight and suggestion, I will try it out now and will post my results! :D
Vytas

Post by Vytas »

proof wrote:

I too am confused about what a halfExtend is. What is the second radius value for? A cylinder should only need a height and a single radius.
dphil

Post by dphil »