.bullet and Dynamica

stnal

.bullet and Dynamica

Post by stnal »

Hi all,

I'm new to Bullet and I need some help with it.
So far I've read the user manual and I also managed to compile and integrate it into the Ogre3D engine (using a wrapper).

I have a few question on some topics so I divided them into different threads...

1. I didn't understand why do I need the .bullet file, is it used just for saving precomputed complex physics shapes? or does it have an additional use?
2. I've read the Dynamica is used for physics special effects and it can save it's output to .bullet. Can you please give an example of what kind of special effects? Or what is the workflow of using it? In my wrapper it is possible to create a physics shape out of a mesh that was loaded to the graphic engine, so I want to figure out if I do need Dynamica?
3. Compiling Dynamica for 3DS max 64bit, anyone had a successful compilation/usage? for what it was used?

Thanks in advance,
Stan.
Erwin Coumans
Site Admin

Re: .bullet and Dynamica

Post by Erwin Coumans »

Using a modeler makes it easier to create and assign appropriate collision shapes and their types (box, sphere, capsule, cylinder, convex hull, concave triangle mesh), rather than automatically generation from the graphics mesh (always using triangle meshes is inefficient).

Also, it is useful to setup complex constraint systems, such as ragdolls etc.

Using cmake you should be able to compile a 64bit version of Dynamica. There is also a precompiled version for most versions here:http://bullet.googlecode.com/files/Dyna ... rsions.zip

Thanks,
Erwin
stnal

Post by stnal »

Thanks Erwin,

That's awesome... The binaries are precompiled for Maya and I need to 64bit version for 3ds max so I'll try to build it myself.
I just upgraded to version 2.77 for that and my code now is working with it.

Thanks,
Stan
stnal

Post by stnal »

I've compiled the 3ds-max plugin and successfully loaded it to 3ds-max 2011 x64 and it works for me,