Java physics engines?

amazed

Java physics engines?

Post by amazed »

I'm a total newbie to physics engines and have been doing a lot of reading both on this site and others (such as ODE's). All the engines I've found seem to be written in C++. Is there an engine written in Java?

I know there is a odeJava engine, but that's really C++ with a Java wrapper (ie JNI). Java calls native C/C++ calls rather than a pure Java implementation. Java gets faster every year, and recently I saw a report of Java being only 1.1 times as slower than C++, so a Java physics engine would be a valuable asset.

Is there such a beast?

Amazed
kevglass

Post by kevglass »

There is the JOODE effort:

https://joode.dev.java.net/

Kev
SteveBaker

Post by SteveBaker »

Generally, Java only comes close to C++ when a large fraction of the execution time is spent in some of the more nicely written heavyweight libraries. Those libraries are frequently written in C or C++ for speed. So measuring the actual performance of raw Java is a somewhat contentious matter. Some benchmarks I've tried in which all of the work was honsestly being done in the actual Java code, came out with Java being ~50 times slower than C++...so I guess a lot depends on what you are doing!

It seems to me that if you need to use physics within a Java program, you should be looking for a C/C++-based physics engine - and adding Java bindings to it so you can use it within Java code. That's not at all unreasonable since it keeps the heavy math in the C++ code and leaves you to do the high level organisational stuff in Java where it's easier to put together than with C++.

So I guess the bottom-line question might more reasonably be: "Has anyone written Java bindings for Bullet?"
Mojomonkey

Post by Mojomonkey »

"Has anyone written Java bindings for Bullet?"
Ping that.

Has anyone done so? If not, I'll be starting this task Real Soon Now, but don't want to continue with an effort that someone else has accomplished.