Optimization for many physics controller objects on map!

myintkt

Optimization for many physics controller objects on map!

Post by myintkt »

Hi, I am new to Bullet but i found out that it is a really great library. thank you for sharing it for free!

I m testing if i can use Bullet as my physics component in a game I m writing. It is OK for Bullet to handle about 10 objects on a map but the actual map would have about 1000 objects on them. that's a lot for simulation and when i run the program my FPS crawl to 0.1!

But most of the object on the map need not to be considered for simulation since they are not visible. All I have to do is process all objects in my current portal. So I want to know if I can do physics simulation on objects that I select from my current portal list each frame.

If not, I want to know if there is solution to come around to handle many objects by removing unnecessary objects (physics controllers) from physics environment.

I can do manual add()/remove() but I am not sure it is the right thing to do.

Could you plz help? Thanks a lot!

mkt
Erwin Coumans
Site Admin

Post by Erwin Coumans »

Do all the physics objects need to be 'active' ? Usually physics objects get deactivated after they don't move (based on velocity and time tresholds). Once the physics objects is deactivated (sleeping) it doesn't cost processor time anymore.

So one way (frequently used by games) is to create the rigidbody objects and set them manually to be deactivated/sleeping.

Also, currently there is a brute-force broadphase. I got a contribution for a faster sweep and prune broadphase.
myintkt

Post by myintkt »

i found out that Sleeping Island does not do enough optimization. In SimpleBroadphase, it is doing N^2 on even none-sleeping objects. that is really where framerate is eaten. When objects get to 400, it is doing 400^2 calculation which is bad.