Applying a torque to a sphere around a given axis

nero1402

Applying a torque to a sphere around a given axis

Post by nero1402 »

Hi there

I'm new to bullet and making a 3d game where you control a rolling ball on a heightmap terrain. I have the collisions all working with a btHeightfieldTerrainShape. The ball (a btSphereShape) rolls and bounces nicely around the terrain.

I have a 'camera' that is placed just above the ball and can be moved to face any direction with the mouse.

Now I want to apply a torque that causes the ball to move in the direction the camera is facing eg. (1, 1, 0).

By this I mean I take the x and z part of the camera's direction vector (from the player's perspective this is the direction they are 'facing' without the up/down part) which would be (1, 0, 0)

I then want to create a vector that lies horizontally, perpendicular to the y axis and the 'xz' vector I mentioned above:

A clockwise rotation makes it (0, 0, -1). Relative to the view on the screen this vector would lie horizontally left to right across the screen.

Now the bit I can't do. :roll:

Can I apply a torque to the sphere clockwise around the vector I've calculated (0, 0, -1) through centre of the sphere? Is this possible and what is the best way to do it with bullet?

I hope that made sense, it's sort of like the torque applied to a car wheel if you are facing in the direction the wheel is rolling.

Thanks for your help 8)
drleviathan

Re: Applying a torque to a sphere around a given axis

Post by drleviathan »

As per the documentation these methods are available for btRigidBody and can apply torque directly:

Code: Select all

void 	applyTorque (const btVector3 &torque)
void 	applyTorqueImpulse (const btVector3 &torque)
void 	applyImpulse (const btVector3 &impulse, const btVector3 &rel_pos)