About the book "Game Physics"

Dani3L

About the book "Game Physics"

Post by Dani3L »

Hi

I'm a student in computer science and I'm very interesting in physics engines. I'm trying to code a basic physics engine starting from a simple implementation of collision detection and response for rigid bodies in 3D. I'm gonna improve it while I'm learning new things about physics simulation. My goal is not to develop the best physics engine but I'm doing that to improve my skills in physics simulation.

I'm reading the book "Game Physics" from David H Eberly. I'm using this book in order to help me coding my basic physics engine. I've seen a post on this forum where someone said that this book is good but doesn't teach you how to write a physics engine.

I wanted to know why this book doesn't help you to write a physics engine ?
Is it a good things to start with this book ?

Thank you very much to help me.
Dirk Gregorius

Re: About the book "Game Physics"

Post by Dirk Gregorius »

Well, I think I wrote this. Basically the book covers a lot on physics, but e.g. the constraint solver works on the acceleration level as described by Baraff and this is not how current engine work. Still there is plenty of good stuff in the book, but more physics in general and not so much engine development in particular. The good news is that there is a lot of stuff available for free and Erwin hosts a lot of these references here on his side. Personally I would look into these sources:

- Erin Catto Box2D Lite and GDC presentations
- Kenny Erleben PhD
- Garstenauer Master thesis
- Bullet and ODE source code