how much realism do we need?

Please don't post Bullet support questions here, use the above forums instead.
topcomer

how much realism do we need?

Post by topcomer »

Hi everyone!
I'm a newbie of the forum and I'm developing a physics engine as my degree thesis.

But my question now is not regarding the thesis (or maybe not yet since I'm in the very beginning but in the future it will certainly happen), is only about sims.

I was discussing with some virtual drivers complaining abt the physics of the last driving sims, speaking and making 'em understand a little bit more about mathematical models, when it came into my mind a question: do we really need a state-of-art realism?

if we think abt cfd or structure mechanics, then FEM is the king method in order to have high precision in the results.
if we instead think abt fly-by-wire systems, they are not based on a physics engine but on feedback atuoregolating system which with a simpler model - I guess comparable with the engine of plane sims - is able to give a description enough accurate to control the vehicle.
maybe I have a bit of confusion inside my brain, but does this mean that too much realism (which maybe we dont have yet but we'r approaching to reach) in sims is a waste of resources?

hope to see your opinions
alessio
Erwin Coumans
Site Admin

Re: how much realism do we need?

Post by Erwin Coumans »

topcomer wrote:Hi everyone!
I'm a newbie of the forum and I'm developing a physics engine as my degree thesis.

But my question now is not regarding the thesis (or maybe not yet since I'm in the very beginning but in the future it will certainly happen), is only about sims.

I was discussing with some virtual drivers complaining abt the physics of the last driving sims, speaking and making 'em understand a little bit more about mathematical models, when it came into my mind a question: do we really need a state-of-art realism?