Moving from Bullet 2 to Pybullet

Official Python bindings with a focus on reinforcement learning and robotics.
maiklof

Moving from Bullet 2 to Pybullet

Post by maiklof »

Hi everyone!
First of all, I want to thank you for the great job you are doing with the Bullet Physics library!
I have been using Bullet 2 for many years now, but mostly in python, thanks to a wrapper I found on the internet and I have been maintaining and developing further. Now I am considering moving to PyBullet but I have some questions. I think it is important to say that I just need a physics engine for my project, without the GUI, VR, AI and the new advanced extra features, so I am interested in using the DIRECT mode. The visualization will be done using a 3D engine. I will use the GUI mode just for debugging. I will need to create different kind of single and multi-body objects, using meshes, constraints and create robots and mechanisms. So, as far as I can see in the documentation, there is plenty of useful methods to make all this very easily... But I miss some stuff from Bullet 2, at least looking to the documentation:

1. Have bodyes MotionStates in pyBullet? Or is there any way to get notifications of the objects that are moving? I can have many dynamic objects in a system and need to know which are moving to get the transform and render them.
2. I see that collision filter masks are implemented for shapes, but what happens with ray tests in pybullet? (Batch Tests are a great feature btw.!)