Maya \bullet Simulation problem, sliding geo

Physics APIs, Physics file formats, Maya, Max, XSI, Cinema 4D, Lightwave, Blender, thinkingParticles™ and other simulation tools, exporters and importers
ASW187

Maya \bullet Simulation problem, sliding geo

Post by ASW187 »

I'm fairly new to bullet and I've hit my first major stumbling block.

I'm creating a VFX shot in Maya 2008 using the bullet plugin. The shot is of a shattering Vase, I used a Voronoi Shatter to pre brake the geo, then I created an active rigid body mesh out of the individual fragments and a passive rigid cube for ground collision, but the rigid bodies are not behaving in a realistic manner. When the dynamic mesh object hit the passive collision object, it jerks around and begin sliding. Here is a playblast of the offending sim

http://www.anguswakefield.com/Data/VASE ... erTest.avi

I've attached what mayas default rigid body produces with the same object, which looks good, the problem being if I try to run all the 95 pieces mayas rigid body crashes every time

http://www.anguswakefield.com/Data/VASE ... arigid.avi

I'm thinking it might because the object are concave/convex demanding on what side your looking at, I've run successful sims using arrays and more conventional boxy shapes, but I cant for the life of me get this to to simulate properly. Any suggestion or tips would be greatly appreciated. Thanks alot for your help in advance.
Erwin Coumans
Site Admin

Re: Maya \bullet Simulation problem, sliding geo

Post by Erwin Coumans »

It looks like the center of mass is not properly computed (it needs to be at the center of the body, possibly using a btCompoundShape to shift the transform)

Are you using the Maya Dynamica plugin? Which version/platform exactly?

If so, can you please share a .ma or .mb?
Thanks,
Erwin
ASW187

Post by ASW187 »

Thanks so much for the quick response, I'm using Maya 2008, here is an image with my my bullet plugin settings

and here's a link to my maya file